top of page
  • Writer's pictureBy Pacific Island Times News Staff

Three more villages proposed to revert to their original Chamoru names

Gov. Lou Leon Guerrero signs Bill 60 officially renaming "Inarajan" to "Inalajan. Photo courtesy of PNC.

Following the official reversion of “Inarajan” to its Chamoru name, “Inalahan,” Guam senators introduced three more related bills proposing to rename three southern villages.

Bills 117-36, 118-36 and 119-36, introduced by 11 senators, would officially recognize Agat as Hågat, Umatac as Humåtak; and Merizo as Malesso′.

The filing of these bills is the first of several steps in the legislative process that must be taken before a village can officially adopt their names in the CHamoru language, states a press release from the office of Sen. Telo Taitague.


The bills were introduced by Taitague, Sen. Clynton Ridgell, Sen. Joanne Brown, Speaker Therese Terlaje, Sen. Christopher Dueñas, Sen. V. Anthony Ada, Sen. Frank Blas, Jr., Sen. Joe San Agustin, Sen. Sabina Perez, Vice-Speaker Tina Muña Barnes and Sen. Jose (Pedo) Terlaje.

The Kumision i Fino’ CHamoru yan i Fina’nå’guen i Historia yan Lina’la’ I Taotao Tåno’ (Kumision) continues its work involving the adopting of CHamoru names for all villages. The Kumision also serves as the Guam Place Name Commission to develop, implement, and advise interested parties on a coherent, culturally sound and historically accurate set of criteria for selecting place names. The Kumision will be conducting a public hearing to receive comments relative to the proposed adoption of village names in the CHamoru language, for the districts of Agat, Santa Rita, Umatac, Merizo, Inarajan and Talofofo.

“I’m excited that the Kumision is also moving forward with community outreach for residents to offer comments on the renaming of their respective village in the CHamoru language," Taitague said.


"Bills 117, 118, and 119 will help facilitate movement in the legislature once the Kumision adopts name changes for the villages of Hågat, Humåtak, and Malesso′. My colleagues and I are grateful to the mayors of Hågat, Humåtak, and Malesso′ for initiating conversations at the village level – and we are inspired by their desire to perpetuate our CHamoru language, culture, and traditions through these small but consequential steps," she added.

Last Friday, Gov. Lou Leon Guerrero signed Bill 60 at the Inalahan Mayor’s Office, officially renaming “Inalahan.”


bottom of page