top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Leon Guerrero defeats San Nicolas

Updated: Aug 29, 2022

By Pacific Island Time News Staff Gov. Lou Leon Guerrero is headed to the general elections on Nov. 8 after defeating her challenger, Congressman Mike San Nicolas, in Saturday's primary. Unofficial results from the Guam Elections Commission showed Leon Guerrero and her running mate, Lt. Gov. Josh Tenorio, garnered 62.30 percent of the votes cast, against San Nicolas and his running mate Sabrina Salas Matanane, with 37.57 percent.

Leon Guerrero and Tenorio will face off against the Republican team of former governor Felix Camacho and his running mate Sen. Tony Ada in the general elections. The Republican team ran uncontested in the primary.

According to GEC's report, a total of 23,261 ballots were cast, accounting for 40 percent of 58,152 registered voters on Guam, with 19,530 Democrats casting votes, 3,182 Republicans and 540 cross-overs.

"High democratic voter turnout for any primary or general election reflects how engaged our party is in choosing its leaders. Our democratic ticket was strong in the primary and continues to reflect the diversity of our party and individuals with varying backgrounds who want to make a positive difference for our island and her people," said Tony Babauta, chair of the Democratic Party.

"We will continue to work hard to earn every vote in the general election and we're both excited and energized to bring our message of Democrats delivering for Guam with Gov. Leon Guerrero and Lt. Gov Tenorio at the top of our ticket followed by Dr. Judi Won Pat for Congress and our strong slate of candidates for the Guam legislature," he added."

Former Speaker Judith Won Pat won the Democratic Party's nomination for the congressional race, beating Sen. Telena Nelson by more than 2,000 votes. There were 65 write-in votes.

"I feel really great and so humbled by the support I received. I want to thank everyone from the bottom of my heart. I also want to thank and commend Sen. Nelson for honoring our commitment to each other to run a clean campaign. Our work is far from over," Won Pat said in a statement. "We want to come out strong at the general election."

Won Pat will race against Sen. James Moylan for the post that will be vacated by San Nicolas.

Moylan ran uncontested in the primary.

For the Democratic Party's legislative primary, Speaker Therese Terlaje is leading the pack with 13,960 votes, followed by former broadcast personality Chris Barnett with 12,584 votes.

Among the incumbent Democrats who made it to the top 10 were Sens. Joe San Agustin, Amanda Shelton, Tina Muna Barnes and Sabina Perez.

On the Republican side, Sen. Frank Blas ranked No. 1, followed by Sen. Chris Duenas and former Sen. Jesse Lujan.

Attorney General Leevin Camacho is facing stiff competion from former Attorney General Douglas Moylan.

The primary, which also brought in 127 write-in votes, showed a neck-and-neck contest between the two, who are both headed to the general elections.

Subscdibe to

our digital

monthly edition


bottom of page