top of page
  • Pacific Island Times Staff

Delegate Bordallo joins Dems urging postponement of Kavanaugh proceedings

Guam Delegate Madeleine Z. Bordallo joined 64 Democratic members of Congress in sending the following statement to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell:

“Once again, we are urgently requesting that Senate leadership postpone any proceedings on Judge Brett Kavanaugh’s nomination to the Supreme Court until a thorough FBI investigation into the multiple allegations of sexual assault and misconduct has been completed."

The statement was prepared and released before the testimony of Dr. Christine Blasey Ford and Judge Kavanaugh before the Judiciary Committee.

"We have heard credible allegations from three women – Dr. Christine Blasey Ford, Deborah Ramirez, and Julie Swetnick – who bravely shared their traumatizing experiences of sexual assault and misconduct at the hands of Judge Kavanaugh," the statement continued.

"We urge you to give these allegations the respect and seriousness they deserve. Anything short of that is an insult to women and girls everywhere and sends a chilling message that survivors should not come forward because they will not be believed."

In 1991, the Senate disrespected Anita Hill, questioned her credibility, and discounted her experiences, according to a news release from Delegate Bordallo's office. Now, 27 years later, Senate leadership has an opportunity to do better.

"These courageous women have nothing to gain by speaking their truth and every reason to stay silent and avoid the harassment and death threats they are currently receiving for coming forward," the release continued.

"Survivors deserve to be heard and believed. As a lifetime appointment to our nation’s highest court is on the line, we implore you to abandon the artificial timeline you have created, support these women who have come forward, and do your duty to the American people by conducting a fair and balanced nomination process.

Please remember that the women and girls of the world are watching and looking to you for leadership. We hope you will rise to the occasion.”


This statement was signed by: Reps. Lois Frankel, Brenda Lawrence, Jackie Speier, Barbara Lee, Diana DeGette, Democratic Whip Steny H. Hoyer, Alma S. Adams, Karen Bass, Joyce Beatty, Earl Blumenauer, Lisa Blunt Rochester, Suzanne Bonamici, Madeleine Bordallo, Anthony Brown, Julia Brownley, Cheri Bustos, G. K. Butterfield, Joaquin Castro, Katherine Clark, Gerry Connolly, Elijah E. Cummings, Susan Davis, Rosa DeLauro, Val Demings, Debbie Dingell, John Garamendi, Raúl Grijalva, Michelle Lujan Grisham, Colleen Hanabusa, Jared Huffman, Pramila Jayapal, Robin Kelly, Ro Khanna, Raja Krishnamoorthi, Ann McLane Kuster, Al Lawson, Sheila Jackson Lee, Ted W. Lieu, Zoe Lofgren, Nita M. Lowey, Ben Ray Luján, Carolyn Maloney, Doris Matsui, Betty McCollum, James P. McGovern, Grace Meng, Gwen S. Moore, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Scott Peters, Chellie Pingree, David Price, Mike Quigley, Jamie Raskin, Jacky Rosen, Dutch Ruppersberger, Linda Sanchez, Jan Schakowsky, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Terri Sewell, Carol Shea-Porter, Adam Smith, Mark Takano, Dina Titus, Norma Torres, Nydia Velazquez


bottom of page