Underwood president emeritus of University of Guam



Former president of the University of Guam Robert A. Underwood has assumed the title of president emeritus following a resolution passed by the Board of Regents on Nov. 15. He is now one of four former presidents in UOG’s history to be granted the title, joining Antonio C. Yamashita (1964–1970, 1974–1977), Wilfred P. Leon Guerrero (1988–1993), and Harold L. Allen (2001–2008).


The Board of Regents grants emeritus status to professors, regents, directors, deans, vice presidents, or presidents who are nominated, meet specific criteria, and pass a committee review process. The status is recommended by a regent to the board. Criteria include serving UOG for at least 10 years, three of which are as president, and having distinguished him or herself by making significant contributions to the University.  


As a president emeritus, Underwood will have the freedom to remain involved with the university through participation at university-sponsored events, on university committees, as a campus speaker, and in UOG-administered grants, contracts, lectureships, and research or service projects. 


Underwood also holds the emeritus status as a professor, which requires at least 15 years of service as a full-time faculty member or administrator at UOG. Wilfred P. Leon Guerrero is the only other former president to hold both president and professor emeritus titles.


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Pacific Island Times


Location:Tumon Sands Plaza

1082 Pale San Vitores Rd.  Tumon Guam 96913

Mailing address: PO Box 11647

           Tamuning GU 96931

Telehone: (671) 3004210/(671) 929 - 4210

Email: pacificislandtimes@gmail.com

© 2023 by "This Just In". Proudly created with Wix.com