Espaldon named minority leader

December 23, 2016




While the Democratic majority have yet to decide on their leadership lineup, the Republican minority on Friday announced the  selection of four-term Sen. James V. Espaldon as the minority leader of the incoming 34th Legislature.


Sen. Thomas A. Morrison will serve as assistant minority leader, with Sen. Mary C. Torres filling the post of Minority Whip.


Senator-elect Louisa B. Muña, a newcomer, is being tapped for Assistant Minority Whip.


“Following a very candid and lively discussion on the topic of leadership positions and organizing our caucus, the selection process went very smoothly,” Espaldon said. “The Republican members of the incoming 34th Guam Legislature are united in a common goal of moving our island forward and bringing better opportunity for all.  We look forward to working with our colleagues across the aisle on issues of great importance to our community,” he added.


The Democratic Party, with nine members, will maintain control of the 34th Legislature.


(The Times News Staff)

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Pacific Island Times


Location:Tumon Sands Plaza

1082 Pale San Vitores Rd.  Tumon Guam 96913

Mailing address: PO Box 11647

           Tamuning GU 96931

Telehone: (671) 3004210/(671) 929 - 4210


© 2023 by "This Just In". Proudly created with